top of page

The Kuraybers - Documentary 2014

Video produced by elcocu (
The Kuraybers
live at Jakob's church
Daniel Lazar - Violin
Almir Meskovic - Accordion
Greg Miszczyszyn - Accordion
Espen Wensaas - Guitar
Bjørnar Kaldefoss Tveite - Double Bass
Boris Iochev - Drums
Ramon Figueras Alsius-Trumpet

The seven of us represent six different nationalities and we all got together through the environment of the Norwegian Academy of Music here in Oslo.
While the band consists of two Norwegians, one Catalan and one Polish, three other instrumentalists among us have a strong connection to Balkan folk music which gives the band a distinctive direction.


Our music consists of elements from the cultures and backgrounds that we represent. 
By taking advantage of our knowledge of folk, classical and contemporary music, jazz and improvisation and then mixing all these elements with other influences, we have ended up with something intriguing, virtoustic, fresh and fun to play and listen to. 

In addition to strong ties to Norwegian and Balkan folk music we also have musical elements from Ireland, Poland, Spain and other nations.
We incorporate all of these styles to create what we believe is a strong and distinctive sound. 


We strive to create energy on stage and to create an unique atmosphere between the musicians and the audience.

bottom of page